IIT Roorkee

Indian Institute of Technology – Roorkee, Uttarakhand

The Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, formerly the University of Roorkee, is a public university located in Roorkee, Uttarakhand, India. Established in 1847, it was given university status in 1949 and in 2001 was converted into an Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT), thus becoming the seventh IIT to be declared. The University of Roorkee was converted into IIT Roorkee on September 21, 2001. IIT Roorkee has 18 academic departments covering engineering, applied sciences, humanities & social sciences and management programs. It lays a claim to being the technical institutions with the largest number of academic units in India. The main…