Universal Postal Union Monument

Universal Postal Union Monument – Bern, Switzerland

The Universal Postal Union (UPU, French: Union postale universelle) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that coordinates postal policies among member nations, in addition to the worldwide postal system. The UPU contains four bodies consisting of the Congress, the Council of Administration (CA), the Postal Operations Council (POC) and the International Bureau (IB). The Universal Postal Union Monument (Weltpostdenkmal) in Bern, made of bronze and granite, by René de Saint-Marceaux was erected in 1909 and represents the five continents as floating figures joined in transmitting messages around the globe.